NC wins mayor and deputy-mayor in Mahakali Municipality

Darchula : Nepali Congress has won mayoral and deputy-mayoral posts of Mahakali Municipality in Darchula district in the local level election held on June 28.
NC mayoral candidate Hansharaj Bhatta won the election with 4,043 votes while his nearest rival, Nar Singh Chaisir of the CPN (UML) received 3,586 votes.

Similarly, NC deputy-mayor candidate Suna Bohara got victorious to the post with 4,132 votes. Bohara’s closest contender Durga Dhami of the CPN (UML) secured 3,344 votes.

Information Officer at the District Election Office, Aan Singh Danga said that out of nine wards, the NC won in eight wards and CPN (UML) in one ward.

The NC won the election in ward nos 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 while the CPN (UML) in ward no 9 of Mahakali Municipality.